SamsVerge – Samsung News, How-To Guides & Tips & TricksStay ahead with SamsVerge: the latest Samsung news, step-by-step how-to guides, troubleshooting tips, and handy tools for Galaxy users. Read more →

Galaxy A56 and A36 Get One UI 9 Globally, With Different Security Patches

UI 9 is rolling out to global Galaxy A56 and A36 units. See builds by region, why the A36 gets an older patch, and whether to install.

0
21
Galaxy A56 and A36 Get One UI 9 Globally, With Different Security Patches

One UI 9 is reaching global Galaxy A56 and A36 units. The A56 build has the October 2026 patch, while the A36 build stops at September.

Key takeaways

  • The global builds are A566BXXUEDZJ1 for the Galaxy A56 and A366BXXUCDZIF for the Galaxy A36. Both started appearing on October 19, 2026.
  • The A56 build includes the October 2026 security patch. The A36 global build ships with the September 2026 patch.
  • Neither phone gets the new Galaxy AI features. SamMobile reports Samsung is keeping those for Galaxy S, Z and Tab S devices.

Samsung's stable One UI 9 update, based on Android 17, is now rolling out to Galaxy A56 and Galaxy A36 phones outside South Korea. Global builds started appearing on October 19, 2026, four days after the Korean release on October 15.

The two phones are not getting identical packages. SammyGuru and TechRepublic both report the October 5, 2026 security patch on the A56 build. SamMobile and Android Central list the September 2026 patch on the A36 global build.

Where One UI 9 has landed, by model and build

This table combines firmware reports from several outlets. The source column shows how solid each row is.

PhoneModel / variantMarketBuildSecurity patchReported sizeFirst seenEvidence
Galaxy A56SM-A566SSouth KoreaA566SKSUADZJ1Not reportedNot reportedOctober 15, 2026SamMobile, SammyGuru
Galaxy A36SM-A366NSouth KoreaA366NKSU9DZIFNot confirmed2,485.01MBOctober 15, 2026SamMobile, Android Central
Galaxy A56SM-A566BMiddle East, IndonesiaA566BXXUEDZJ1October 5, 20262,314.37MBOctober 19, 2026SamMobile, SammyGuru, TechRepublic
Galaxy A36SM-A366BEuropeA366BXXUCDZIFSeptember 2026Over 2.3GBOctober 19, 2026SamMobile, Android Central
Galaxy A56US open-market modelUnited StatesA566U1UEUBDZJ1Not reportedNot reportedOctober 20, 2026SammyGuru only
Galaxy A36US carrier models (T-Mobile, AT&T, US Cellular)United StatesA366USQUADZIFNot reportedNot reportedOctober 20, 2026SammyGuru only

Download sizes conflict between outlets. Sammy Fans lists about 2.8GB for the A56 and 2.7GB for the A36. SamMobile measured the A56 package at 2,314.37MB. Plan storage around the larger figure.

Why the A36's September patch matters

A36 owners on the global build get the September 2026 Security Maintenance Release (SMR). That's Samsung's monthly security bundle. Samsung's bulletin lists 18 critical Google fixes and 32 Samsung-specific items for that month. Two of those Samsung items are critical image decoder flaws that remote attackers could use to run code. SamMobile counts 58 fixes in the patch.

The October 2026 bulletin came out on October 6. It adds 9 more critical Google fixes and 27 Samsung items. A56 owners get those now. A36 owners will need a later update.

Samsung's own bulletin admits this trade-off. It warns that "regular OS upgrades may cause delays to planned security updates."

What changes on these phones, and what does not

The upgrade mostly brings interface and privacy changes. According to SamMobile, the Quick Panel now lets users resize the brightness and volume sliders and the media player. Controls can be rearranged, and the sound mode button can be split from the volume slider.

A new Warranty and care menu in Settings shows warranty details and runs diagnostics. Samsung India's support page already hosts a guide for it. Reports also mention a faster way to lock the phone, plus updates to Samsung DeX, Samsung Notes, accessibility and a location privacy indicator.

SamMobile reports one more A56 extra. Quick Share can now send files to iPhones, iPads and Macs through AirDrop. The toggle sits under Settings, Connected devices, Quick Share, Share with Apple devices. It needs updated Quick Share components from the Galaxy Store. No outlet has reported this on the A36 yet.

The new Galaxy AI features skip both phones. TechRepublic notes that Samsung's device list for Privacy Alerts, an on-device AI permission monitor, does not include the A56.

Confirmed, reported and still unclear

Confirmed by two or more outlets: both Korean builds, the A56 global build with the October patch, and the A36 European build with the September patch.

Reported by one outlet: SamMobile says the Middle East may have received the A56 first. SammyGuru alone reports the US builds. Sammy Fans reported on October 21 that both phones are rolling out in India, but no second outlet has confirmed it yet.

Unclear: when US open-market A36 units get the update, and when the A36 moves to the October patch. We found no reports of either phone getting the update in Africa so far.

Should you install One UI 9 now?

Galaxy A56 owners: install it when it appears. The build is current on security and has no device-specific bug reports so far.

Galaxy A36 owners: install it if your phone is on a patch older than September 2026. If you already have September, the upgrade brings features but no new security fixes.

Anyone who resets phones often: hold off on a factory reset after updating. Sammy Fans reports that Samsung acknowledged a setup-screen freeze on some Korean Galaxy S26 Ultra units running One UI 9, with a fix promised in the next OTA (over-the-air) update. PhoneArena also cited Reddit reports of some Galaxy A57, S24 and S26 Ultra units becoming unusable after updating. Neither issue has been reported on the A56 or A36.

To check, open Settings, then Software update, then Download and install. Use Wi-Fi and charge the phone first. TechRepublic advises against flashing firmware built for another model code.

How this rollout compares, and what comes next

The A36 and A56 went from Korea to global markets in four days. The Galaxy A57 took about six, going from Korea on October 6 to Europe on October 12, according to SammyGuru's tracker. Flagships like the Galaxy S25 series got One UI 9 a few weeks earlier.

PhoneArena notes this is the A36's second major Android upgrade, with four more expected. SammyGuru expects the wider One UI 9 rollout to finish by the end of November. Samsung India's completed-models list was last updated on October 13 and does not yet confirm either phone.

See our One UI 9 rollout and supported devices page for other models. If your phone isn't on it, check our list of Samsung phones that miss One UI 9. For what comes after this, read about One UI 9.5 testing on the Galaxy S26.

Sources

Montel AnthonyM
WRITTEN BY

Montel Anthony

Montel Anthony has spent years living inside the Galaxy ecosystem — testing new One UI releases the day they land, tracking down fixes for battery drain and connectivity headaches, and digging past the marketing copy to find the settings that actually make a difference. What started as troubleshooting for friends and family turned into a habit of writing it all down, then into full guides covering everything from first-boot setup to the quirks of each new Galaxy flagship. At SamsVerge, Montel Anthony covers How-To guides, breaking Samsung news, troubleshooting walkthroughs, and the tips power users rely on — always tested on real devices, not written from a spec sheet. The goal is simple: cut through the jargon and give Galaxy owners answers they can actually use, whether they're setting up a brand-new phone or trying to squeeze another year out of an older one. When a new One UI update drops or a Galaxy device launches, Sam's Guru is usually already elbow-deep in the settings menu, finding out what changed before writing about it.

Responses (0 )

    ‌
    ‌
    ‌
    ‌
    ‌
    ‌
    ‌
    ‌
    ‌
    ‌
    ‌
    ‌
    ‌
    ‌
    ‌
    ‌
    ‌
    ‌

Stay up to date

Get notified when I publish something new, and unsubscribe at any time.